Continuous Partial Attention

01Jun10

In the case of continuous partial attention, we’re motivated by a desire not to miss anything. To be busy, to be connected, is to be alive, to be recognized, and to matter

Do you know what’s my favorite topic whenever I start thinkin afresh of writing a new post? Writer’s block. The name’s the same, but I bet every writer, every blogger experiences differently. I experience it as way too many ideas clogged together with little substance given chance to flow through. Erm, What? Read on…

By habit, I usually note down blog topic ideas in a text file and eventually I hope to go through them one by one through the process of conceptualizing, drafting, revising and publishing the topic idea. What’s happened lately is that topic ideas are flowing in too many at a time, but when it comes to writing the content, it gets hard to think beyond 140 characters. Every topic makes me think of an immediate reaction, a first impression, a misleadingly sparse summary. There is so much variety of information in microblogs, that its easy to get inspired to write my opinion and point to factual data on atleast 2-3 topics in a matter of less than a month. However the thinking has shrunk to microblog posts. Can’t think. Can’t be creative beyond that. The only entity to be blamed for this state is me. I do admit that unlike many of my friends, I’ve found microblog platforms to be quicker ways to reach out and converse with random people, where all you care about is what you talk about, not who you are conversing with. Atleast that’s another self opinion there.

Talking about ideas that’ve been clogging the mind this time were “Twitter Addiction”, “What does privacy mean to the end user” and “Prince of Persia: Sands of Time (movie) review”. Each of which on the spot I could think up a microblog sized statement and felt no more enthusiastic to expand further, to go into detail. To test my vocabulary, learn some new words, make the experience more palpable and so on. Herein, let me get out of my system what tiny posts I’d had in mind for the 3 topics, before moving on.

  • What does privacy mean to the end user :- I drew up a half done mindmap for this, as this topic, for me, needed a systematic approach to avoid any senseless raging that would’ve erupted from the pissed off state of mind on how privacy is being bluntly mishandled. However right now I’m just not in the mood to get back to it too soon. Reason one being the microblogging mindset. It comes with excuses like “Many other people have written about it” and partially complete content like one or two random recollections that don’t make for a complete topic that is worth posting as original stuff. The microblogging mindset comes from the next topic on mind, which is…
  • Twitter Addiction :- Best way to get off it is to tell yourself “You are not important” and then say the same of your followers (they are not important as twitterers…but as persons…that’s a different story). These words have been used in a similar context by a friend Navin (who’s important as a person, linkbomber as a twitterer) but the idea is not so rare. “Social Networks” are being overused and at such levels, neither of the 2 words make sense.
  • Prince of Persia (Movie): This however I watched just today. What I felt weird about my thought process was that I was quick to conjure up a phrase that sounded like an interesting summary of the movie (atleast to me). That is spontaneous thinking but not something that comes out of proper observation and careful organization of thoughts and experiences through patience. Patience, where art thou? Flew away…tweet! tweet! 😦 The microblog sized thought that came in mind was that the movie reminded me of Next (Nicholas Cage), but then it highlighted one aspect of the movie…you could say a turning point but a limited view all the same.

Ah, there! What a relief! Temporarily though. Starting from yesternight I believe, I am trying to be off microblogs for a week to see if it helps improve how long I can think about and focus on a topic to get back to my full length blog posts. Because my blog does deserve to be treated like a blog not a phil-hollow-sophical one-liner collection. Credit to Navin for the 3rd last word in the previous sentence. See how uncreative I’e become…but not for long…This gone too long already. I could have a blog like “Writer’s block around the clock” or by the time I’ve the patience to make one, I won’t be having the block anymore probably.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 Responses to “Continuous Partial Attention”

  1. me: “Because my blog does deserve to be treated like a blog not a phil-hollow-sophical one-liner collection.” 😀

    me: love ur blog so far….

    Diabolic: cudnt u comment? 😛
    anyways go on

    Love your blog so far!! 🙂

    • 2 Diabolic Preacher

      i seem to be missing out random lines in chat due to network issues, though overall i was able to surf the net n chat.

  2. Your blog is cool. To gain more visitors to your blog submit your posts at indli.com

    • 4 Diabolic Preacher

      Thanks for visiting. I hope my blog doesn’t crash with the ‘indli’ effect 😉


Leave a Reply

